The Few, The Proud, The Braves

The Only Blog That Has The Balls To Compare The Braves To The Marines


  • "Pitching Wins Championships, But Offense Wins Games" - Kris N.

  • Follow Kris

  • Few_Proud_Brave

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Best Braves Blogs

    Capitol Avenue Club
    Are you a stat head looking for a stat head? Well head on over to Capitol Avenue Club to get your statistical analysis freak on!

    Atlanta Baseball Talk


    Need to talk about the Braves? Or at least listen to people talk about the Braves? Well head on over to Atlanta Baseball Talk for some Atlanta baseball talk

Not Good Enough

Posted by Kris N. on August 11, 2010

I’m a Braves fan, through and through, til the end. I would never wish harm to my team, nor a loss. But that all changed last night.

“Conrad, who replaced Jones, has been no stranger to comeback wins this season. And once again he ended any chance of another meltdown with a two-run homer that was the difference in a 4-2 win on Tuesday.” – Steve Gartner

While I was never rooting against the Braves (I never do), I think a loss would have boded better for the future of this club. I wanted to read quotes along the lines of, “Yea, we didn’t play good defense, I think we’ll all step our game up, I know I’ll work on it,” rather than, “Brooks Conrad is amazing.” There is no question that he is amazing, but we can’t come to rely on him every 9th inning.

If that game plays out 1,000 times starting at the top of the ninth, the Braves win it maybe 130 times. Braves use a process, good pitching, poor hitting, terrible defense, and get good results.

Remember when Atlanta suffered that 5 game losing streak vs. The Fish and Reds, and they went on to win 16 out of their next 19 games to force themselves into a wild card hunt? That’s what I was hoping for.

Chipper’s Injury

That’s a problem. A big one. Braves will have to find a way to replace a .381 OBP, and might I be the first to say gooooooooood luck. Brooks Conrad is penciled in as the 3B today, and will likely be the new 3B. If news comes back that Chipper’s injury will sideline him for the rest of the year (October included), Wren should trade for an infielder. Before, I talked about the rumors of Chone Figgins at the trade deadline. Expect those rumors to pick up again if Chipper’s MRI results come back barring bad news.

This one is for Chipper

“Hoping for the best, but expecting the worst”

“Forever young, I want to be forever young”

One Response to “Not Good Enough”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Atlanta Braves Buzz and Kris Noble, Kris Noble. Kris Noble said: I was bored, so I wrote this: http://wp.me/pJSs5-6z Last night's game, Chipper's Injury, A possible 3B option, & a Alphaville song. #Braves […]

Leave a Reply

 
